I have a lot good memories as a child growing up in Shirley and one of those was going to his station for dad to get gas and I always got to get a soda pop out of his old coke machine. He is proceeded in death by his parents, Leonard and Bessie Lovett Abbott, brother Vaughan Abbott, and sisters Elizabeth Higgs and Bessie Ruth Jones. Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information. Although I hadn't seen Dick for many years, his smile and sense of humor is still a fond memoryReadMore Friends may visit at THE MARSHALL FUNERAL HOME 10366 Yonge St. Richmond Hill (4th traffic light north of Major Mackenzie Dr.) on Friday August 23rd from 7-9pm and Saturday from 2-4pm. I was a student of Jerrys at CBHS best teacher in the world. God keep you and may comfort find you and all of your loved ones now and always. 2, 2015. Authorize the publication of the original written obituary with the accompanying photo. They purchased a home on a 2.25-acre lot, where he lived out the rest of his life taking care of the yard, weed eating, and making his kids and grandkids do something that he did as a young boy at the rec, called picky picky (picking up sticks and pinecones). The importance of saying "I love you" during COVID-19, Effective ways of dealing with the grieving process, Solutions to show your sympathy safely during the Covid-19 pandemic, Midlawn Funeral Home and Memorial Gardens. Our thoughts and prayers are with the family. A Funeral Service will be held at 1:00 p.m., Saturday, September 5, 2020 at Bentley Funeral Home. You will always be family! Send a note, share a story or upload a photo. Despite battling a severe varicose veins disability for many years, which eventually placed him in wheelchair, the sports icon remained a permanent fixture of the local athletic scene well into his 70s. You are completely right! She was a devoted member of Taylor Memorial Methodist Church. (CNS): Gerald Jerry Harper, affectionately known to many as Coach Fatcalves, died Sunday morning at The